Mayor and Township Committee

Angel Sauro, Confidential Aide to the Mayor
(609)-298-2800 ext. 2109

Steve Benowitz, Mayor
609-298-2800 ext. 2320
Eugene Fuzy, Deputy Mayor
609-298-2800 ext.2326
Jim Cann, Committeeman
609-298-2800  ext. 2321
Jill Popko, Committeewoman
609-298-2800 ext. 2322
Eric Holliday, Committeeman
609-298-2800 ext. 2325

Departmental Liaison Responsibilities: (Assignments) 

Township Committee Meeting Dates and Agendas

Recently Adopted Ordinances

Mayor's Corner

Reorganization Meeting 2017

Notice: Change in Township Committee Meeting Format

Effective March 24, 2014 the Township Committee will meet in a closed session beginning at 7:00 pm. The open session to the public will commence at the conclusion of the closed session at 7:30 pm. This change will be effective for any and all Township Committee meetings on and after the 24th. Thank You. 

The Township of Bordentown is a community that prides itself on having great businesses, good neighbors and many wonderful residents. Bordentown Township is a great place to live, work, play and raise your family. We are very happy to share that many residents have roots here for generations. We are dedicated as a Township Committee to focus on the concerns and challenges that we face in this community and economy. We strive for excellence in serving our community to build better neighborhoods. We would like to welcome any new families with open arms and our current residents and thank each of you for being a part of the warm and friendly family of Bordentown Township.

The Township form of government is the oldest form of municipal government in New Jersey. The original act of 1798 incorporated 104 towns. The Township Committee remains the backbone of the municipality's government under the township government laws. Voters elect the township committee's five members. The elections are partisan and the committee members serve three-year staggered terms. The Township Committee elects the mayor for a one-year term. The Mayor is the liasion for Administration.

The Township Committee is the Legislative Branch of our government and establishes policies for the administration of the various departments. The Committee appoints the Township Administrator who is responsible for carrying out those policies and overseeing the day to day operations.

Township Committee meetings are held on the 2nd and 4th Monday of the month excluding holidays at 7:00 PM, in the Municipal BuiIding. Check the Township Meetings Calendar for changes, cancellations and special meetings.

Township Legal Holidays 2017

  • Monday, January 2, New Year's Day
  • Monday, January 16, Martin Luther King Jr., Day
  • Monday, February 20, President's Day
  • Friday, April 14, Good Friday
  • Monday. May 29, Memorial Day
  • Tuesday, July 4, Independence Day
  • Monday, September 4, Labor Day
  • Monday, October 9, Columbus Day
  • Friday, November 10, Veterans Day
  • Thursday, November 23, Thanksgiving Day
  • Friday, November 24, Day after Thanksgiving
  • Monday, December 25, Christmas Day



Do you like this page?