Planning Board

Mike Theokas, Interim Director of Community Development
Board Secretary
One Municipal Drive Bordentown NJ 08505
(609)-298-2800 ext. 2102

Planning Board meetings are typically held the second and fourth Thursday of the month, at 7:00 pm in the Bordentown Township Municipal Building, 1 Municipal Drive. Please check the Township Meetings Calendar for cancellations, time and location changes.

The Bordentown Township Planning Board consists of a total of nine (9) members and two (2) alternates. Two (2) members are elected officials of the Township Committee and one (1) is another other Township official. They provide an important policy element to the Board. The remainder of the members are volunteer residents appointed by the Township Committee and consists of members designated as Chair, Vice-Chair and two Alternate members. A professional staff consisting of an Attorney, a Professional Planner, a Professional Engineer, a Traffic Engineer, an Administrative Officer/Board Secretary who assists the Planning Board. The powers, duties and regulations of the Planning Board are contained in the Municipal Land Use Law (MLUL N.J.S.A. 40:55D).

In March of 2020, the duties of the Zoning Board of Adjustment and the Planning Board were consolidated via Ordinance 2020-01. The Planning Board will now assume the responsibilities formerly held by the Zoning Board of Adjustment including the handling of the applications for variation to the land use regulations that are defined by the Township Committee and local laws. If individuals or developers wish to vary from the regulations, approval must now be granted by the Planning Board.


Contact the Community Development Office for Planning Board Applications.


The Planning Board reviews and acts on the following:

Applications for subdivision approval. The Planning Board when reviewing subdivision and site plan applications can decide "C" Variances and establish procedures for the review of such applications.

Conditional use approval (if an application for conditional use involves a variance, the application is referred to the Zoning Board of Adjustment.)

Applications for variation of land use regulations (former responsibility of the Zoning Board of Adjustment)

Preparing and updating the Township Master PlanAn integral part of the Township's decision-making process is the Master Plan. Without the land use element of the Master Plan, a Township cannot have a valid Zoning Ordinance.

The Planning Board may also become involved in the review of other State or Federal programs or plans assemble data for planning purposes and perform other advisory duties as assigned to it by the Governing Body, to aid them in planning process.

Planning Board Members

Class I Member:
     Stephen Benowitz, Mayor, CY 2020
Class II Member:
     Bill Grayson, Unexpired Term 1/1/18– 12/31/20
Class III Member:
     Eric Holliday, Deputy Mayor, CY 2020
Class IV Members:
     George Chidley, Chairman - 1/1/17 - 12/31/20
     Kevin Hirschfeld, Vice-Chairman -  1/1/19-12/21/23
     Danielle Esser, 1/1/19-- 12/31/22
     Tim Fairlie, 1/1/18 - 12/31/21
     Mary Ann Holston  1/1/19 - 12/31/22
     Erica Bowyer, unexpired term expiring 12/31/20
     Linda Schiano  - Alt. #1 - 1/1/19 - 12/31/20
     Nicholas D'Angelo, Alt. #2 - 1/1/20-12/31/21
     Mike Theokas, Board Secretary, Interim Director of Community Development

Planning Board Attorney:
Brian J. Carlin, Esquire
1844 Burlington-Mt. Holly Road
Mt. Holly, NJ  08060
(609) 387-4346
Cell:  609-304-8257

Frederick J. Turek, II, PE,PP, CME, CPWM
Turek Consulting, LLC
712 East Main Street, Suite 1A
Moorestown, NJ  08057
(856) 770-4755
Fax:  (856) 663-2245

Landscape Architect Planner:
Jack Carman, RLA, FASLA, PP
Spiezle Architectural Group, Inc.
1395 Yardville-Hamilton Square Road, Suite 2A
Hamilton, NJ 08691
Cell:  (609) 458-0257

Traffic Engineer:
James L. Kochenour, PE
Arora and Associates, PC
Princeton Pike Corporate Center
1200 Lenox Drive, Suite 200
Lawrenceville, NJ  08648
Work:  (609) 844-1111